The present church was originally
built by the Normans on the site of a Saxon one and in the 14thC it
was enlarged, but money ran out before the transepts and the western
extension could be built. The rare and magnificent wall paintings
are 17thC and are now cared for by English Heritage.
We have a Norman font but much of the interior was renovated in the
19thC to a very high standard. The windows are very fine examples of
19thC work by Lavers & Westlake, London. We have a matched set of 6
Pennington Bells, cast in 1767, which are rung regularly.
This is just a very brief outline of our beautiful church. Do come
and see it - the view from the churchyard is breathtaking. Toni Kemeny